Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Where the dark stands still  Cover Image Book Book

Where the dark stands still / A.B. Poranek.

Poranek, A. B., (author.).

Summary:

A girl with dangerous magic makes a risky bargain with a demon to be free of her monstrous power in this young adult fantasy perfect for fans of An Enchantment of Ravens and House of Salt and Sorrows. Liska knows that magic is monstrous, and its practitioners are monsters. She has done everything possible to suppress her own magic, to disastrous consequences. Desperate to be free of it, Liska flees her small village and delves into the dangerous, demon-inhabited spirit-wood to steal a mythical fern flower. If she plucks it, she can use its one wish to banish her powers. Everyone who has sought the fern flower has fallen prey to unknown horrors, so when Liska is caught by the demon warden of the wood -- called The Leszy -- a bargain seems better than death: one year of servitude in exchange for the fern flower and its wish. Whisked away to The Leszy's crumbling manor, Liska soon makes an unsettling discovery: she is not the first person to strike this bargain, and all her predecessors have mysteriously vanished. If Liska wants to survive the year and return home, she must unravel her taciturn host's spool of secrets and face the ghosts -- figurative and literal -- of his past. Because something wakes in the woods, something deadly and without mercy. It frightens even The Leszy -- and cannot be defeated unless Liska embraces the monster she's always feared becoming.

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781665936477
  • ISBN: 1665936479
  • Physical Description: 353 pages ; 24 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Margaret K. McElderry Books, 2024.

Content descriptions

Target Audience Note:
Ages 14 and up. Margaret K. McElderry Books.
Grades 10-12. Margaret K. McElderry Books.
Subject: Demonology > Fiction.
Magic > Fiction.
Deals > Fiction.
Love > Fiction.
Genre: Romance fiction.
Fantasy fiction.
Novels.

Available copies

  • 11 of 13 copies available at Missouri Evergreen. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Poplar Bluff Municipal Library District. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Poplar Bluff - Main Library.

Holds

  • 1 current hold with 13 total copies.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Poplar Bluff - Main Library YA OW PORANEK (Text) 38420101827554 NEW YA DISPLAY - BOOK Available -


Additional Resources